Bloody Sox

Red Sox Rants — and other random opinions about sports

Bye Bye Manny!

Finally. The long darkness is over. Manny Ramirez is no longer a member of the Boston Red Sox. Good riddance.

I agree with those who think the Red Sox will not be as potent offensively with Jason Bay in left field. However, they will be a better TEAM. That’s a word Manny Ramirez never really learned.

What surprised me about this deal is just how much the Red Sox had to give up to get rid of the guy! Wasn’t it enough that they were willing to pay the remainder of Manny’s salary for the year? Did they really have to kick in BOTH Craig Hanson and Brandon Moss. I’m not too sorry to see Hanson go, as I don’t think he ever could have flourished in Boston. I suspect he’ll turn into a respectable closer for the Pirates in the National League. But I liked Brandon Moss. I have this sneaking suspicion that Moss will be more productive for the Pirates in the next two months than Bay will be for the Sox.

Nevertheless, I like what I’ve read about Bay. He seems like a good addition to the club, even if his stick doesn’t instill fear into opposing pitchers. I’m looking forward to watching this new team gel and compete for a playoff spot.

The one good thing about this episode is that it has given me the motivation to finally get around to setting up my Red Sox blog. Thanks, Manny! Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

