Bloody Sox

Red Sox Rants — and other random opinions about sports

Voters serve up Rice dish!

Congratulations to Jim Rice, newest member of the Cooperstown elite.  It took 15 years, but Jim Ed finally scaled the walls of the Baseball Hall of Fame. As I have already written, I approached Rice’s candidacy with two minds. The purest part of me thought, “No, Jim Rice was not a great enough player to be inducted into the hall of fame.” But then I thought that if I were choosing a team, I’d select Jim Rice in his prime over many of the players who are in the hall.

So I am glad he has made it in. I think playing for the same team for 16 years also merits reward. That’s been very rare, and getting rarer.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

